KC Skyline

City Clerk Web Search

Search the Ordinances:

Legislation #: 070271 Introduction Date: 3/8/2007
Type: Special Action Effective Date: none
Title: Recognizing the campaign to promote and publicize the National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial

Legislation History
3/6/2007 Filed by the Clerk's office
3/8/2007 Held on Docket (3/15/2007)
3/15/2007 Adopted

View Attachments
070271.pdf Authenticated 86K Authenticated

Printer Friendly Version



Recognizing the campaign to promote and publicize the National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial


WHEREAS, the new National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial opened December 2, 2006, to wide international acclaim. A number of individuals, corporations and institutions contributed to the successful public relations event and the grand opening of the museum, which saw over 30,000 visitors in the first thirty days; and


WHEREAS, the grand opening events were possible because of the foresight and guidance of the Liberty Memorial Association, the leadership of Mayor Kay Barnes, City Manager Wayne Cauthen, the City Council, the Parks and Recreation Commissioners, and the strong support of American Century Investments, the Kauffman Foundation, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Kansas City, the Neighborhood Tourism and Development Fund, the Missouri Board of Tourism, Fleishman Hillard, Inc. and ONeill Communications. Other major contributors include the City of Kansas City, the Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce, the Kansas City Convention and Visitors Association, K. C. Impact Fund, Hallmark Cards, J. E. Dunn Construction, the Jackson County Legislature, James B. Nutter & Co., Bank of America, Turner Construction, The Kansas City Star, the Kansas City Police Department, the Kansas City Chiefs, Tension Envelope, the Durwood Foundation, Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences, the American Red Cross, the Salvation Army, and Russell Stover Candies; and


WHEREAS, individuals integral to the effort include grand opening chairperson Anita Gorman, event managers Jinny McCoy, Betsy Solberg, Nancy Dillingham, Angela Browne, Georgia Lynch, Marianne Kilroy, and Keli ONeill Wenzel. The host committee consisted of Sandra Doolin Aust, Steve Berkheiser, Richard L. Berkley, James H. Bernard, Karmen Bradley, Mary Jo Browne, Jim Corwin, Tom Dailey, Nancy Dalberg, Ted Dalberg, Carl DiCapo, John Dillingham, Doug Ervin, Barbara Fegan, John Franklin, Ollie Gates, Greg Graves, Noni Guilfoil, Debra Heineger, Rick Hughes, Brad Lang, Pete Levi, Mandy Levings, Mary Edith Lillis, Robert Kipp, Deborah Kipp, William Dunn, Jean Dunn, Larry Maher, Carol Marinovich, Karen McCarthy, Mark McHenry, Bob Moore, Barbara Nelson, Jeannette Nichols, Pat ONeill, Vince Ortega, Anita Osborn, John Owen, Dean Pearce, Eddie Penrice, Karen Pletz, Bob Rohlf, Gwen Royle, Ruth Ann Sandifar, Willard Snyder, Anne D. St. Peter, Don Stebbins, George Thompson, Alex Wendel, Dan Wilinsky, and Greg Williams; NOW, THEREFORE,




That the Mayor and Council hereby recognize and applaud the aforementioned for their contributions to the National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial.


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council and that copies be presented to representatives of the National World War I Museum at Liberty Memorial in appreciation for their work in creating a world class attraction.