KC Skyline

City Clerk Web Search

Search the Ordinances:

Legislation #: 050044 Introduction Date: 1/13/2005
Type: Special Action Effective Date: none
Title: Recognizing the Kansas City Museum Advisory Board

Legislation History
1/11/2005 Filed by the Clerk's office
1/13/2005 Adopted

View Attachments
050044.pdf Authenticated 75K Authenticated

Printer Friendly Version



Recognizing the Kansas City Museum Advisory Board


WHEREAS, the Kansas City Museum Advisory Board has been established to work in conjunction with the City Council of Kansas City, the Department of Parks and Recreation, and Union Station to advise on and direct the renovation and use of Corinthian Hall for the purpose of preserving and displaying artifacts and collections held by the museum, and to provide a consistent level of public and private support for the Museum and its holdings; and


WHEREAS, Corinthian Hall is a remarkable home, built in 1909-1910 in the Beaux-Arts style which originated at LEcole des Beaux Arts in Paris and was popularized during the 1893 Columbian Exposition in Chicago. The style is characterized by its grandiosity, symmetry, order and elaborate ornamentation, and reflects the designs of ancient Greece and Rome; and


WHEREAS, the mansion was built by Henry Ford Hoit for the family of Robert A. and Ella Wilson Long, people of humble origin whose home would exhibit grandeur well-suited to the visions of George Kessler and Jesse Clyde Nichols Kansas City. The home, on Gladstone Boulevard, had seventy rooms. In 1939, Robert Longs daughters gave Corinthian Hall to the new Kansas City Museum Association, and soon thereafter it opened to the public as a museum. The Kansas City, Missouri City Council accepted ownership of the building from the Kansas City Museum Association in 1948. In 1980, Corinthian Hall was placed on the National Register of Historic Places; and


WHEREAS, members of the Kansas City Museum Advisory Board include Ezekial Amador, Cheryl Bisbee, Ramona Davis, Fred Bryant, John Dillingham, Jim Giles, Ruthanne Harper, Deb Hermann, Bob Lewellen, Gary Marsh, Rita Nell Patejdl, Henry Rizzo, Scott Wagner, Deb Hermann, Scott Burnett, Tim Kristl, Mike Burke, Jim Bernard and Sean OByrne. Their work, which enriches the entire metropolitan area, is deeply appreciated; NOW, THEREFORE,




That the Mayor and Council hereby recognize the Kansas City Museum Advisory Board; and


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council in testimony thereof and that a copy hereof be presented to Ruthann Harper in token of the appreciation of the Mayor and Council for the contributions this Board has made to the metropolitan community.