KC Skyline

City Clerk Web Search

Search the Ordinances:

Legislation #: 001365 Introduction Date: 10/12/2000
Type: Special Action Effective Date: 10/12/2000
Title: Honoring Fire Department personnel and citizens who have received citations for valor, bravery or distinguished service.

Legislation History

Prepare to Introduce



View Attachments
No attachment(s) found

Printer Friendly Version




Honoring Fire Department personnel and citizens who have received citations for valor, bravery or distinguished service.


WHEREAS, the Meritorious Awards Committee of the Kansas City Fire Department grants awards for acts of courage and the Committee granted valor awards to: Timothy L. Corrado and John O.H. Tvedten, and bravery awards to: Fire Apparatus Operator Troy D. Petersen, Firefighter Michael E. Conroy, Firefighter Joseph J. Ortega, and Firefighter Michael S. Tittone for acts of courage beyond the ordinary call of duty; and


WHEREAS, upon receiving reports of meritorious acts, the Committee granted distinguished services awards to: Captain Michael J. Byrne, Captain Stephen V. Stichnot, Captain Gregory P. Vincent, Captain Kenneth W. Warfield, Fire Apparatus Operator John E. Baker, Fire Apparatus Operator Michael J. Cashen, Fire Apparatus Operator Brian L. Hertzog, Fire Apparatus Operator David J. Knaebel, Fire Apparatus Operator Richard D. Lewey, Fire Apparatus Operator Robert B. Petrie, Fire Apparatus Operator Leo S. Revoal, Firefighter Ricky L. Black, Firefighter Brian S. Casper, Firefighter Timothy L. Corrado, Firefighter Joe A. Costanza, Firefighter Manuel W. Davis, Jr., Firefighter Michael L. Evans, Firefighter Terrance D. Godfrey, Firefighter Edward T. Grear, Firefighter Michael M. Jacobs, Firefighter Gary K. Jones, Firefighter John P. Kemp, Firefighter Patrick M. Lally, Firefighter Brian J. OSullivan, Firefighter Steven L. Scammahorn, Dispatcher I Kye S. Barrett, and Fire Inspector Bret L. Johnson for services of an outstanding nature which reflect credit on the fire service as a profession, either in terms of said members contributions to the public, or in terms of such contributions being jointly to the Fire Department and the public, such activities in the above instances ranging from saving of human life through rescuing victims from smoke filled buildings under adverse conditions to outstanding performance demonstrating above average dedication to ones job; and


WHEREAS, the civilians awards are granted to: Richard A. Boettcher, Jr., Richard A. Cook, Dave Durham and Russell C. Widmar for unselfish acts of courage and risk of personal safety in the rescue of another human being, dedicated support and continued support through public fire education; NOW, THEREFORE,




That the Mayor and Council hereby express, for themselves and on behalf of the people of Kansas City, deep and sincere appreciation for the acts of bravery and distinguished service and commend each of the honorees upon their receipt of these awards; and


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council in testimony thereof, and that a copy hereof be furnished to each of the honorees, as an expression of the admiration and appreciation felt by the Mayor, Council and people of Kansas City, Missouri, for the activities and services which promoted these awards for bravery and dedicated services.