KC Skyline

City Clerk Web Search

Search the Ordinances:

Legislation #: 100158 Introduction Date: 2/25/2010
Type: Special Action Effective Date: 3/7/2010
Title: Honoring UMKC Student Tax Challenge.

Legislation History
2/22/2010 Filed by the Clerk's office
2/25/2010 Adopted

View Attachments
100158.pdf Authenticated 59K AUTHENTICATED

Printer Friendly Version



Honoring UMKC Student Tax Challenge.


WHEREAS, the American Bar Association is the largest voluntary professional membership organization in the world and serves as the national voice of the legal profession; and


WHEREAS, the Section of Taxation of the ABA is the largest professional association of tax lawyers, with approximately 23,000 members nationwide; and

WHEREAS, the Young Lawyers Forum of the Section of Taxation sponsors the Law Student Tax Challenge annually; whereby participating students are presented with a very complex tax planning issue and present problem findings in oral arguments and in a written memo; and


WHEREAS, Nicole Forsythe and Ryan White from the UMKC – School of Law were one of 69 teams competing in the J.D. and LL.M. divisions; and

WHEREAS, the UMKC School of Law team was coached by Judith Frame Wiseman; and

WHEREAS, Nicole and Ryan were awarded Best Written Submission in the LL.M. Division and First Place in the Oral Defense of their written submission at the National Finals in San Antonio, Texas on January 22, 2010; NOW, THEREFORE,


That the Mayor and Council hereby honor the UMKC Law Student Tax Challenge Team; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council in testimony thereof and that a copy hereof be presented to the UMKC Law Student Tax Challenge with the sincere congratulations of the Mayor, Council, and the people of Kansas City to the UMKC Law School Tax Challenge team and its coach and supporters for their hard work, success and excellent representation of the UMKC School of Law.


Authenticated As Adopted This

25th Day of February, 2010



Mayor Mark Funkhouser



City Clerk/Director of Records


Deb Hermann, 1st District-at-Large

Bill Skaggs, 1st District

Ed Ford, 2nd District-at-Large

Russ Johnson, 2nd District

Melba Curls, 3rd District-at-Large

Sharon Sanders Brooks, 3rd District

Beth Gottstein, 4th District-at-Large

Jan Marcason, 4th District

Cindy Circo, 5th District-at-Large

Terry M. Riley, 5th District

Cathy Jolly, 6th District-at-Large

John Sharp, 6th District